Noob here! Help please!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ej_b1996

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I finally decided to start dieting my tank but the first time I did it it was a fail...I think?

I found some miracle lying around so I started putting it in my 10 gallon
Then I slowly started filling it up with water but then as the water rose, the dirt rose also and when I stuck my hand in there was nothing on the bottom of the tank?
So I emptied it and washed it out and filled it up again with just dirt but didn't fill it up yet
My questions are:

1. How do I fill up the tank without the dirt rising up?

2. Is the type of dirt I put in ok for a planted aquarium?

3. Is this enough dirt? It's about 1"-2"

4. Would it be bad to leave in the wood chips that came along in the dirt?

5. I didn't sift the dirt, is this fine?

6. What are some easy beginner low-light plants to start off with? Other than java fern and anubias, I want ones I can actually put in the dirt

Sorry for all the questions lol just wanna make sure I get everything right this time
Hope to hear from you guys soon!

Here are the pics

Thanks!!

Attachments

• image-105163699.jpg
    image-105163699.jpg
    121.4 KB · Views: 76
  • image-4196197318.jpg
    image-4196197318.jpg
    171.7 KB · Views: 90
  • image-2881666643.jpg
    image-2881666643.jpg
    175.6 KB · Views: 81
I would make sure to chech the ingredients list before deciding to use it as a fertilizer. I noticed a lot of common plant fertilizers have copper added into the mix which would be bad. Also, I'm not sure if that particular soil has any chemicals added into it which could also potentially harm your fish. If you wanted to go the miracle grow route you might try to look into an organic soil.