Not sure of what to stock in my planted tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ziezie94

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone! I'm very new to the hobby and am planning on setting up a 20 gallon planted tank. I've always admired beautiful scaped planted tanks and wanted to try one myself. I do need some advice on what to stock inside my tank. Both plants and fishes. Only plants I've thought of so far are java moss and java fern. For the fishes I actually am planning on stocking with guppies as the main stock. I would love on some suggestions for what else I can stock up in my tank. Thanks !

If it's gonna be heavily planted I'd stock around 12 guppies max. Are you interested in putting any other fish in that catch your eye or maybe a center piece fish with guppies? Bottom dwellers with guppies? A smaller group of guppies with a center piece fish and some bottom dwellers? Several options for you.

If it's gonna be heavily planted I'd stock around 12 guppies max. Are you interested in putting any other fish in that catch your eye or maybe a center piece fish with guppies? Bottom dwellers with guppies? A smaller group of guppies with a center piece fish and some bottom dwellers? Several options for you.
I actually do intend on some bottom dwellers and maybe one center piece fish that get along well with the guppies. I've read that there are some who add a betta fish to their guppy tanks but those comes with risks of their own right ? And would adding shrimps like cherry reds be a good idea?
For the guppies I initially thought about maybe 2 groups of 1Male to 2 females? Would that be ok?