Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-18-2009, 08:37 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ricardo48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UPPER RISSINGTON
Posts: 245
Plant Conditions

Hi Everyone.

Can I have some feedback on the following conditions for my planted tank and if there is anything i should change/add

  • 15 gallon tank
  • 3.5 wpg at 6700K on for 8 hours
  • Fine gravel substrate
  • 40 Root tabs planted
  • Diy co2 giving me 30-40 ppm
I am dosing the following fertiliser as per instructions on packaging.
  • Tetra Plantamin for my Micro nutrients
  • Seachem Excel
  • Seachem Nitrogen
  • Seachem Pottassium
  • Seachem Phosphorous
  • Amquel as needed
I do weekly water changes of 25% or twice weekly depending on nitrate levels.


My water parameters are
  • PH = 7.0 ( comes out at 8.0 from tap )
  • GH - 24
  • KH = 14
  • Nitrite = 0
Think that is everything. Any suggestions or feedback to improve my setup greatly appreciated or if you need any more information.
__________________

__________________
ricardo48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 05:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
if you are adding diy co2 you dont have to also add excel.
__________________

__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 02:39 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ricardo48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UPPER RISSINGTON
Posts: 245
Im adding Excel as i have traces of algae all around the edges of my plant leaves. Mainly Amazon sword. From looks of it I would say BBA as its only on plant edges mainly at the moment.

Once algae clears up I will stop adding it.

If im already at 35ppm of CO2 from my diy and im dosing excel, will the excel be utilised at all or will the plants take the carbon directly from the CO2 first?

Just curious as I dont want to overdose my tank with excel if its not being consumed.
__________________
ricardo48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 02:49 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
really dont know. though the 30ppm+ co2 will keep the bba at bay and the excel will kill it. not 100% sure on what it takes up first but i think it might be the gas. i know the gas is better then the liquid.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 05:18 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ricardo48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UPPER RISSINGTON
Posts: 245
When they BBA is kept at bay will it slowly start dissapearing or will it just stop growing and need manually removing from every surface its on?

Its on "all" the edges of my pennywort and dont really want to bleach dip if i can help it.
__________________
ricardo48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 05:33 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
the co2 will keep it at bay not kill it. only way to kill it is excel h2o2 or bleach.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 03:56 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ricardo48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UPPER RISSINGTON
Posts: 245
I bleach dipped my wisteria 4 days ago and already its showing signs of BBA over the edges again. It seems to be getting steadily worse. Not sure whats fueling it as i am doing everything on the above I posted.
__________________

__________________
ricardo48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
condition, plant

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brackish Conditions Viperboy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 04-30-2006 07:05 PM
How do my water conditions appear??? flames9 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 15 04-20-2005 11:34 AM
At a loss as to plant conditions, pls help. rabbit Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 05-03-2004 10:11 PM
Cycle conditions: what to/not to do dansemacabre Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 03-24-2004 09:13 AM
Water Conditions ercfish Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 08-23-2003 09:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×