Plant newbie needs lots of help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

iceywater101

Aquarium Advice Activist
hello everyone! I have been keeping tanks for a few years now and pretty much got the fish part down, but now I want to try a planted tank. I already have good lighting I have a all glass twin tube over an all glass versa top. I have a 20 watt colormax for the fish and a 20 watt nutri grow for plants that I dont have yet. So I am figuring I prob have around 1.5 watts per gallon, I read that the 2 20 watt bulbs dont really equal 2 watts per gallon. My biggest question is I have 2 aquaclear 20s running one on each end of my tank I also have a bubble curtain that runs along the back on my tank. My biggest question is do I have to much oxygen in my tank.

You can never have too much O2 in a tank, even if saturated it will dissipate out of the tank. However, the reverse is true. You can have a tank that does not have enough O2 (but that's another topic).

What size tank do you have? To know whether you have enough light, divide the total wattage of your bulbs by the size of the tank (ie: 30w bulb/40 gal tank).

Thanks for the help so far. I have a 20 gal long tank. I am looking to do low and moderate light plants. I am going to be using eco complete and flourish essintals pack to help the plants grow. Is there anything else I should know or any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Seeing how they are 20w bulbs, I assume they are T12, so it is a true 2WPG, you will be borderline requiring Co2, but I think you'll be fine without it. (That said, DIY would be a great idea to promote healthy plant growth)