Planted aquariums got snails

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Samispeed

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi guys I'm a noob, I've got a planted aquarium and I have loads of little snails that may have come with the plants.
Now my question is simply, are they beneficial to my tank? Or do they eat my plants in which case I will have to get rid.
Thanks in advance.
Regards
Sami.

Snails

Hi guys I'm a noob, I've got a planted aquarium and I have loads of little snails that may have come with the plants.
Now my question is simply, are they beneficial to my tank? Or do they eat my plants in which case I will have to get rid.
Thanks in advance.
Regards
Sami.

Hello Sam...

Seems like this question has come up very recently. Anyway, you may have Ramshorn snails. I got some a while back from the LFS plants I bought. The Ramshorn variety are very good for your tank. They'll eat all sorts of algae and anything else in the tank, like a dead fish or an old, decaying plant leaf. They won't damage anything healthy, so your plants are safe.

If you get too many snails, they'll pile up in the corners of the tank and that's a sign you're feeding the fish and plants too much. If you don't provide too much for them to eat, then the snail numbers are just right.

B

Ah thank you very much. I have a planted aquarium which I started 2/3 weeks ago. (Still in the cycling in phase) just wondered if I should kill the snails.
So it sounds like these little tiny snails are actually a good clean up crew.
Do bigger snails do the same?