Planted tank and direct sunlight... possible?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MaryBeth

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, and thank you so much for your time.
I am new to aquarium keeping, but have been doing so much research to attempt to figure out what is best. However, it is difficult to find clear answers to some questions. I have numbered my questions throughout if you’d like to skip my explanations and get straight to the point, but really any help here is so appreciated.
First, let me tell you the situation of my tank now. The aquarium I purchased is the Top Fin Retreat Five Gallon Aquarium. I purchased it used, but in great condition. I’ve only had it a couple of days, and so far I’ve basically done nothing with it. I have added rocks and a thermometer and that’s it.
This tank comes with a pump/filter (I had to purchase new cartridges and they should be coming in tomorrow, hopefully they’re the right size/type/whatever as I couldn’t find that anywhere online either) and it came with a light for the top.
That being said, I want to start just with some plants in my tank. So my first question is, (1) are plants able to live without also having fish in the tank?
Also, I plan to and am set on keeping my tank in the window sill. Aesthetic is essential here, as I have a beautiful view out this window that I do not want it blocking. Thus, I’m really not a fan of the light on the top.
In this window, the tank will receive basically constant direct sunlight. So, (2) is a light even necessary to have when there is sunlight? I know the main issues with direct sunlight are algae and temperature. I’m just baffled that I can’t find solutions to these issues. (3) Are there not things you can put in the tank to eat the algae and a way to cool a tank?