Plants and Carbon?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SeverumGuy

Aquarium Advice Freak
I had someone tell me in a previous post of mine that when keeping live plants that I should take the carbon out of my filters. Can anyone else give some opinions on this. It makes sense. If I take out the carbon, will it cause my water to get cloudy?

i've been doing planted tanks for over 2 years now. i don't use carbon and my water is never cloudy unless i stir things up rearranging the plants. even then it all settles/filters out in couple hours.
the carbon will take out some of the nutrients that the plants use to grow. also if you will be dosing ferts you will be removing some of what you are putting in.
so essentially you're throwing money away buying more carbon every few weeks to remove what you're buying to feed the plants.

I don't run carbon unless I'm trying to remove medication or tannins.

FishEggs pretty much nailed it. Carbon removes stuff from the water. It doesn't differentiate between the good and bad.

Do you all have Amy proof on this or just stuff you heard on here? Not trying to bash or anything but I never found anything definitive.

Proof of carbon removing stuff from the water?

Here's some information from North Dakota State University:

Treatment Systems for Household Wate Supplies -- Activated Carbon Filtration

What Contaminants Do Activated Carbon Filters Remove From Water?