Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-22-2011, 09:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stockbridge, WI
Posts: 7
Question Pressurized CO2 with Wet/Dry Sump.

Hi. Anyone ever have any success running a fw planted aquarium with a wet/dry sump filter and pressurized CO2? I am attempting it (I know, not the ideal setup) and looking for some advice. I am running a Red Sea 500 reactor in the sump at around 4 bps. The sump is air-tight and the aquarium (90 gallon) is covered with glass tops. I can't seem to get my CO2 level to raise. My PH has only dropped from 8.0 to 7.8 and my KH stays around 10. I've been running the CO2 for about 2 months. Any help, suggestions or conversation about this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Snowh8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 09:25 PM   #2
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,924
Is the inlet or outlet of the sump creating surface agitation in the tank or the sump? Is it an overflow?
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 09:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
Ziggy has a sump on his planted tank... Ziggy's Corner Planter

BTW, Welcome to AA
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 10:07 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stockbridge, WI
Posts: 7
Yes, it is a AGA w/built in Megaflow. The outlet from the durso overflow tube does hit a dual spray bar that spreads water over a media tray, that water than drips over bio-balls, and than it flows into sump area which than gets returned via a Panworld 100px external pump. The return is then split into 3 loc-line diffusers that are below the water line of the aquarium. There is quite a bit of splashing when the water go's to the filter, but my sump is completely sealed with low-adhesive clear tape. Wouldn't any degassing in the sump area get regassed because the CO2 would have no where to go but in the water?
__________________
Snowh8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 03:30 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stockbridge, WI
Posts: 7
Wow, thanks for the link for Ziggy's tank! I just spent the last couple hours reading every post and admiring his pictures. I am gonna have to go back and click some of the links for other posts such as the DIY fertilizer dosing. I am glad that I have came across this site, but I must admit, it is a little intimidating because, well, some of you guys are really on top of your game. As for my CO2 problem, I think I will try turning the return pump down a little further and do a large water change. Hopefully that will help getting the CO2 level to rise. I was thinking that maybe I could run a T off of the CO2 outlet line and run a diffuser in the tank while leaving the reactor in the sump. Do you think this would help?
__________________
Snowh8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 05:07 AM   #6
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,924
I think your problem is degassing. Running an overflow/sump/wet dry makes it difficult to get the co2 higher than equilibrium. There might be tape on the sump but I doubt it is 100% airtight. Adding an extra diffuser in the tank won't help if that is indeed the problem.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 09:14 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
+1 The splashing in the wet-dry off-gases your CO2.
__________________
A man's errors are his portals of discovery.
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 12:55 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stockbridge, WI
Posts: 7
Thanks for the replies! Do you guys have any ideas how to possibly make it work without using a different filter configuration? I know it will never be effecicient with a wet/dry, but do you think I could use a different media other than bio-balls to lessen the off gassing?
__________________
Snowh8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 01:18 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
Raising the water level in the wet-dry would help, but you'd be removing much of the air-water interface that supports huge numbers of bacteria.
__________________
A man's errors are his portals of discovery.
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 02:45 PM   #10
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,924
CO2+overflows a/o wet dry setups is really a difficult proposition.

You may get a little more diffusion if you actually put in a diffuser in the tank (like a ceramic/glass diffuser), but you are still going to be offgasing a lot of CO2.
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, dry, sump, wet, wet/dry

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wet/dry or sump? Quik1500 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 01-31-2008 09:44 AM
CO2 w/ wet/dry filter Biotoper Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 18 03-04-2005 01:12 AM
wet dry vs. sump clowninround Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-18-2004 12:36 PM
need help with wet/dry sump-want to bipolar gecko Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 09-02-2003 12:27 AM
wet dry and sump crvz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 04-24-2003 08:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.