Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-05-2006, 01:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 212
Question about CO2 and Ph with water changes

Right now, I am using Excel as a CO2 substitute, but it is becoming more of a pain than it is worth. Especially because I have a 90 gallon tank, and I go through a large amount of Excel very quickly. So I think I might go with a pressurized CO2 system.

My tap water is at about 7.5 Ph and it is very hard. The test strip indicates that the GH is around 100ppm and the KH is around 200ppm. Lets say that I want a CO2 level of 30ppm with a target Ph level of 7.0 (this is according to Chuck's calculator). What happens when I change 50% of the water? Wouldn't the PWC immediately change the Ph from 7.0 to 7.25 until the CO2 could be dispersed? I have discus and I don't think that they would like that. BTW, they seem to be fine with the higher Ph, but probably not a Ph swing.
__________________

__________________
yohann976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 01:43 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Yes it would chnage but the Co2 would drop it back quickly. The PH swing from the CO2 is not going to bother anything, as long as the KH is constant. If your tap KH and tank KH is close you have nothing to worry about. It is KH changes that bother FW fish not PH swings.
__________________

__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 01:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rkilling1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NE ohio
Posts: 2,245
Send a message via AIM to rkilling1
During the PWC a lot of the CO2 would be off gased as you mentioned. but the change in pH would not be that stressful to the fish. the change in KH is what is stressful to fish.

HTH

EDIT: I see Rich beat me to it. LOL
__________________
rkilling1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 01:53 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 870
I was also worried about this pH swing, but as rich and rkilling have stated, it will not bother your fish.

If you decide to use a pH probe / monitor with your pressurized setup, make sure to turn it off during PWC. When the probe comes out of the water it goes crazy, resulting in a huge amount of CO2 injection. My tap is around 7.9 pH and 120ppm kH and I inject down to 6.9. After PWC it is between 7.1 - 7.2 and corrects itself in an hour or two. The fish have never showed any signs of stress (though I don't do discus).
dapellegrini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 01:55 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 212
That is a relief. What is a good CO2 system to use? Also, is a Ph monitor that hooks up to the system worth the extra money?

Oh yeah, one more thing; is it possible to hook the system up to two tanks. I have a 46 gallon bow front tank just sitting here begging to become a planted tank. lol
__________________
yohann976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 02:01 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 870
With discus, I would highly recommend a pH monitor... Even without discus, really.

I use Milwaukee equipment:

http://www.aquacave.com/detail.aspx?ID=3

http://www.aquacave.com/detail.aspx?ID=4

http://www.aquacave.com/detail.aspx?ID=612

http://www.aquacave.com/detail.aspx?ID=235

And bought a tank from a local beer brewer supplies place. I am very happy with it.

PICS and info on my setup here:

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewto...=88786&start=0
dapellegrini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 02:10 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Yes you can get a manifold to split the CO2 supply. I know Purrbox uses one for multiple tanks.
__________________

__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pH swings w/ DIY CO2 and water changes fort384 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 12-04-2008 10:03 PM
CO2/water Question corster Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 03-18-2007 05:20 PM
Question about pressurized Co2, Ph, and water changes. Friendly Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 05-26-2006 02:53 PM
soft, acidic water and CO2 ADFs Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 12 06-06-2005 08:48 PM
soft water and CO2 medge00 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 09-28-2003 11:49 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.