Question about Lighting/Ferts~!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Shiina107

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi everyone, tonight my question is simple but let me explain a few things first:

I know if you have a very intense light, that you need the Ferts and or CO2 to keep up with it or you get algae like no tomorrow! SO, my question is: can i just use ferts and root tabs to provide my plants with what they need and to keep algae away? I am not really a novice/beginner when it comes to plants however i am by no means overly experienced and am still learning new things everyday through my own experiences and research! Therefore, i would rather not go down the rabbit hole of CO2 setups at the moment. I am currently using Flourish Excel but i know there are way better ferts out there so if anyone can recommend one that works great for my tanks that would be incredible! There's just so many to choose from sometimes it's better to go out and ask fellow hobbyists what works best for them.

(Light specs: 15W, 6500K, 850LM, 72PAR)

72 PAR at what depth?
Tank size?

Flourish Excel is not fertilizer, it is a mild algaecide that breaks down protein films on plant leaves allowing them to better utilize atmospheric CO2 concentrations, along with helping to control algae. Use at the "after water change" rate daily, or else it will not be of noticeable benefit.

All in one ferts such as Thrive are good, Flourish line up is not worth the money unless you are using a specific one for a specific reason. The issue with all in one fertilizers is you have no control over each ingredient. If you want to target a certain ppm of Nitrate, you are stuck with whatever dose of Phosphate you get by targeting the Nitrate ppm.

For simple tanks, Flourish comprehensive plus Flourish trace is likely enough, but a shot of macro nutrients (NO3, PO4 and K) will be of benefit.