Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-06-2017, 07:01 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 3
Replacing substrate for an established tank + rescaping

Hi, I'm planning on eventually re-scaping my large 130L tank once I save up enough. I'm a poor Uni student so I plan to do a lot of research beforehand.

When I first set up I had all fake plant and over the last year replaced all the fake plants with live ones (also add Fluval plant micronutrients). I also set up a smaller tank for shrimp and live plants using ADA Aqua Soil soil rather than grave. Which has been much more successful with the live plants.

So I wanted to replace the substrate in my big tank with a bottom layer or ADA Aqua soil or something equivalent and a top layer of black gravel.

However, I not sure how best to do the change. Should I leave the fish in or take them out? Do it in section (probably difficult) or all at once?

I Do have a small 40L tank I could place them in for a short time. However, one of the Gourami I have one is a bit of a d##k and will chase the other fist if they get too close.

I also want to keep as much of the established tank's water as possible and when I did the shrimp tank found that there was an ammonium spick that could have been from the soil (filled it with water from my big tank).

If anyone has any idea for my tank or how to best tack replacing my substrate I would love to hear from you.


Fish
- 5 rosy fine tetras
- 2 Dwarf Gourami
- 1 moonlight gourami
- 2 Three spot gourami (One is a d##k)
- 1 pleco

And yes I have found out that the moonlight Three spot gourami is not recommended with the Dwarf Gourami because they may be aggressive. However, I haven't had any trouble with them together apart from one of the three-spot gourami who only chases the others a little bit (sometimes) when they get too close.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170501_183452.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	224.8 KB
ID:	305431   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171206_204457.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	250.0 KB
ID:	305432  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171206_204611.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	256.1 KB
ID:	305433  
__________________

__________________
Hana288 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 03:16 PM   #2
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 66
It is never recommended to add aqua soil to an established tank because it leaches ammonia, which you seen in your shrimp tank. It also is not really recommended to cap aqua soil (especially gravel), eventually the heavy cap of gravel will work its way down, leaving the aqua soil on top.
__________________

__________________
ZxC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 04:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jeffruth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 247
There would be no benefit to keep the tank water. BB grows on decorations, rocks, gravel, filter media etc. Very very little is in the actual water.
__________________
FW 90gal w/ 20gal sump
Current Stock - 14 Columbia Tetra/11 Serpae Tetra/16 Prisella Tetra/6 Yoyo Loach/1 Red Tail Shark/ 10 Giant Danio /2 Lazer Corys/6 Bolivian Rams/4 Otocinculus / 7 Panda Corys / 3 Borneo Suckers / Flame Moss / Moneywort / Vallesaris / Java Fern...
jeffruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 04:20 PM   #4
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffruth View Post
There would be no benefit to keep the tank water. BB grows on decorations, rocks, gravel, filter media etc. Very very little is in the actual water.
There is one big benefit to keeping tank water.... Identical parameters before and after the substrate swap will limit stress on the tanks inhabitants... keeping water parameters stable is key in the health of fish/inverts.
__________________
ZxC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 03:28 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Luananeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,673
Doing it all at once is probably the only feasible option. I second the mention that you shouldn't cap the soil with gravel as the gravel is going to end up at the bottom sooner rather than later. The second you try to move a plant or plant something new the layers will start mixing.

I've never found a good way to do a substrate swap with the fish still in the tank. Especially when disturbing an established tank's substrate, the process tends to throw up all kinds of gunk you don't want your fish swimming through. Saving the tank water won't help with the ammonia spike that the ADA soil releases, but it can help limiting the stress to your fish, as mentioned by ZxC. You can store the water in 5 gallon water jugs if you have them, or you can grab a cheap brand new large trash can to siphon it into. You'll need a pump to pump it back in the tank if you do that though.

The best way to handle using the ADA soil on an established tank is to pre-cycle the soil. You can find instructions on how to do that here: https://www.theshrimpfarm.com/articl...l-amazonia.php
You should be able to cycle it in the small tank you mentioned, or in any fish-safe plastic tub.

Good luck!
__________________
Need help with GloFish? Check out my DIY GloFish Blog: http://glofishtankdiy.altervista.org/
Luananeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
api, ate, cap, established tank, substrate, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
65gal discus breeding tank rebuild/rescaping PoppaRyno New Acquisitions 182 05-12-2015 08:02 PM
Help rescaping my planted tank. jbib1089 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 03-31-2014 11:57 AM
Replacing substrate in established tank sodbuster95 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 10-27-2013 02:06 PM
Rescaping octagon tank- opinions? Salski Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 09-27-2013 01:15 PM
My tank - 6 mo after rescaping PurplePolyp Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 1 01-10-2013 03:49 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.