Researching new build - 26g Bow Front

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mozzer

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm just getting started with my research on building a new planted tank. Here are some considerations and questions.

Equipment:
26g Bow Front (all I have room for)
Fluval 206/306

Substrate:
Eco Complete fine black

Flora (low/medium light):
Java ferns
Anubias
Crypts

Fauna:
1 x Oto
2 x Panda Cory
2 x Honey Gourami
2 x GBR (something to strive for)
6 x Cardinal/Neon Tetras
3 x Silver Hatchets

As I said above, I'm just beginning my research. I see that a lot of members have similar setups and I want to ease into it because I've only done it badly before and I've never tried to keep plants. Once I can cycle appropriately and begin to keep some things alive I might step up my game with CO2, some hot lights and more difficult plants, but I really want to keep things simple (but scalable) for now.

Questions:
1. What lighting will I need? Keep the T8 that comes with the hood and get a good bulb (6500k)? Am I asking for an algae problem if I went with Finnex Fuge Ray with the above set up? It seems a T5 HO fixture would be hotter, but this tank is a little deeper than the wide variety.

2. The Fluval 206 seem more than adequate, but would a 306 be overkill and provide too much current?

Thanks in advance. This is such a fantastic and encouraging community!

I just setup my 26g BF in December. I have the 306 and it's perfect. I do throttle it down a bit with the flow control. The 206 would be adequate.. I bought the 306 because i got it on black Friday for less than the 206. Either will do, but I'd still get the 306 if the difference in price is negligible.