Secret of dwarf hairgrass

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rusilja

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm a newb, I got my hairgrass (2 pots) for 1 month or so...
They just didn't set runners...
I planted them right from the pot (removed the pot ofcours)
Couple days later I split them up in groups.

The next 2-3 weeks, I only saw like 1 runner... 8-O I was like dude... xD (I have 2 desklamp bulbs), lot's of light!!!
I don't use any tablets or ferts in my tank, only 3-4 cm (that's like 1.5inch) of gravel (stones, not big though)

I read that people give it haircut's, cutting it in the middle, (at least the big one's!!)
30% of my hairgrass is brown 8-O8-O (still mystery why)
So Yesthrday I decided to give the long one's a hair cut...

Just a moment ago I saw atleast 5 new runners! 8-O8-O8-O

So , that's the secret :D

Anyways, if someone knows why a lot are brown... tell me :)

thank you!

It's likely that the plants were grown emersed and it took awhile for them to start growing as they were adapting to submersed growth in your tank. Most often this involves the die off of the emersed growth leaves which would explain why so many turned brown on you. Go ahead and remove the brown leaves so the plant can focus on new growth instead.

I'm guessing it is turning brown due to either:

Insufficient lighting - They require around 2WPG or more to really form a nice carpet.
Insufficient fertilizers/CO2 - May not be necessary but it would definitely help.

I'm guessing it is probably a combination of low light, no ferts, atmospheric/no co2 and water conditions. I would try removing as much by hand as possible. Also, do not try a blackout with the plant, they will often just die off and turn brown.

What type of lighting are you using? I know you said two desklamps, but how many watts each?