Setting Up A CO2 System

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bettafanatic

Aquarium Advice Addict
I'm planning a 30 gallon planted aquarium, and just need some advice and have a few questions. Now, I'm a beginner when it comes to these things, so I'll probably have some stupid questions. Just bare with me.

For the CO2 tank, I still have to find a place where I can get it refilled, so I'm skipping it for now. I think i've got somewhere, though.

For a pressure regulator, I intend to get this one: CO2 Pressure Regulator w/Solenoid

What do you think? However, if anyone knows a better regulator, all info is much appreciated!

For needle valve, I intend to get this: http://www.clippard.com/store/display_details.asp?sku=MNV-4K2

I read that this works well, but all advice is appreciated.

For bubble counter, I'm still looking around for one. Are they absolutely necessary?

And for the CO2 reactor, I'm going to buy this: Freshwater Planted Aquarium & Plant Care: Carbon Dioxide Reaction Chamber CO2 Reactor 500

The only problem people brought up in reviews were issues with the suction cups, which I can deal with.

I was also wondering if I'm going to need tubes to connect each piece and how that would work once I have everything. And if anyone knows better products, do tell! Thank you!

I would check out the MA957 by Milwaukee.

eSeasonGear FreeShipping! has a great price on it with free priority mail system. It costs the same as just the regulator you linked above, but includes the needlevalve, CO2 proof tubing, and a bubble counter.

Are you running a canister filter? I would skip the Reactor 500 and go with either a DIY inline diffuser, or use a ceramic glass diffuser. They aren't going to get you that much more diffusion to be worth it, plus they take up room in your tank.