Some quick Questions....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FBTennisNumberOne

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Well just to introduce myself, my names Tyler and i have been keeping tanks for about 3 years.
I have done the African Cichlids and had good success with that. Then i tried a nano reef tank(10 gallons) and have alot more success with this one that i thought i would...after battleing some bouts with algae my mushrooms survived and everything is good now
i figured the final HURDLE so to say would be a planted tank!
I want to do a nice 55 gallon low tech tank with some easy hardy species in the beginning, the only catch is that i would LOVE to have a Gold Severum. I have heard that these can be quite tough on plants...
I already have the tank and everything...i will be running a fluval 405 for filtration...eco complete substrate(i have heard this is a very good substrate)....and i am going to buy a 48 inch shop fixture from lowes and try to get about 100 watts out of it, we'll see about that though, i think i might have to buy 2.... as i think the standard 2 bulb T-12 bulb fixtures put out 80 watts max....

As for plants...i have heard of a couple of good beginner species
like: Java Fern, Hygrophilia, Vallisneria, Wisteria, Anubias, Watersprite, and Cryptocorynes

im really only leaing toward Java Fern, Anubias, Vallisneria, and Cryptocorynes

But im not sure if 1) these would work is a low tech tank....max 2-2.5wpg
and 2) if they would hold up against a Gold Severum....

so i am just wondering
1) if im off to a good start?...im new at the planted thing
2)are these good low tech beginner plants?
3)Will these hold up against a Gold Severum?

If anyone has any comments or suggestions about my tank....or any better species for beginners and maybe some that will hold up against Gold Severums....PLEASE LET ME KNOW...