Starting 40 gallon planted

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

George9

Aquarium Advice Addict
I really want to start a bigger tank thaat i could actually put some nice plants in. Im relatively new to plants, but not to aquariums. I'm going to get a 40 gallon long aquarium (anyone have one? I've never heard of anyone having a 40 Long), the dimensions are 48" by 12" by 16". I really like the look of black sand and plants would stick out and look pretty cool. I'm not sure about the lighting. this is the fixture I was planning on getting:http://www.fosterandsmithaquatics.com/product/prod_display.cfm?pcatid=22134 but I'm just not sure what kind of plants these lights would support. I need design ideas also, all I know so far is I want a big piece of driftwood in the center. Thanks guys!

Sounds like a decent set of lights, one fixture, with two bulbs at 108w in your 40 gal would put you at a little better than 2 1/2 watt/gal. Should be good for low and medium light plants. It also sounds like you could later get another and use them together for plants that need high lighting if you ever decided to go for it. I recommend a plant guide. Petco has a little book called 101 best plants for your aquarium that gives a good starting point. It's about $18 bucks, but considering how many plants you could put in there is a worthwhile investment if you think you could loose a bunch of plants if done incorrectly.

2x54w would be high light on that tank. I wouldn't try more than one T5HO bulb without pressurized co2 and a steady fert dosing regimine. IF you chose that fixture, a pressurized co2 setup, and EI, PPS Pro, or PMDD dosing, you could grow any plant you want. If you do one T5HO, you'll still be able to keep a lot of plants, all but the more higher light demanding plants.