Starting a 10 gallon planted

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sahabo

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So I'm pretty much new to planted tanks. I've done some java fern and moss on driftwood in my 5 gallon, but that's about it.

I'm just beginning to set up a new 10 gallon and while it's cycling I'd like to learn how to plant it and get some aquascaping ideas. I'm going to have 2x15w CFL so I'm guessing this will be low light? Might there be some medium light plants that would grow well with that amount of light?

I have about an inch of black gravel at the moment. Do I need more gravel?

I've read that gravel isn't a great substrate for plants, but I really like this stuff. If I add flourish root tabs, will that help?

Can anyone suggest some 10 gallon low tech tanks I can look at to get some ideas?

another inch or 2 of gravel would be better IMO. Plants do just fine with regular gravel in lower tech setups, well most easy plants.

One of my favorite 10G lower tech tanks is here:
10 Gallon Journal - "Betta Haven", my first planted tank

Stick with easy plants, like Crypts/Java moss/ferns/anubias. Then you will be OK with easy medium light plants like wisteria/ some Hygro/vals. Search here under lighting requirements to see some.
PlantGeek.net - Plant Guide

I used 20 pounds of substrate in each of my 10 gallon tanks - that was one bag of Eco Complete. I could roughly measure the depth for you (I'm sure it's over an inch) but it will have to wait until tomorrow. Peyton the betta is sleeping now. :) For regular gravel, I think a good recommendation is 1 to 1 1/2 pounds per gallon. That's how I filled my 5.5 gallon tanks with regular gravel. I used one 5-pound bag plus a little bit more of another bag for them.