Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-11-2011, 09:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cardinal3420's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 268
T5 lighting

What are peoples thoughts on T5s? Would it be good for my plants or will it be too much for my fish. 30 gallon tank just started its cycle. just trying to get a good lighting system in place soon. Any thoughts on what will do the trick to keep my plants (Amazon swords, mostly amazon plants) satisfied?
__________________

__________________
Cardinal3420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 10:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: US
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cardinal3420
What are peoples thoughts on T5s? Would it be good for my plants or will it be too much for my fish. 30 gallon tank just started its cycle. just trying to get a good lighting system in place soon. Any thoughts on what will do the trick to keep my plants (Amazon swords, mostly amazon plants) satisfied?
IMO it will be good 4 the plants and not to much 4 the fish! Will u be adding root tabs for your SWORD'S???
__________________

__________________
Do you want your Signature Picture or Avatar made?
I'll Make Your Signature Picture and Avatar
EndlersEatGuppies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 11:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cardinal3420's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 268
Yeah I will def be using root tabs, I use them now with my smaller tank. In my old 55 I used them with great results. Swords get more of there nutrients from there roots. They usually are pretty easy. I just wanted to make sure I have good light to the bottom being my tank is taller and I want the low plants to thrive as well. Its just been a couple years since doing a planted tank. Thank you for your help too!!
__________________
Cardinal3420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 04:50 PM   #4
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,924
I assume we are talking about T5HO lighting. It is great for fw planted tanks. However, it all depends on how much you have over the tank. You can have too little, and you can definitely have too much (especially if you aren't intending to dose a lot of ferts or inject CO2).
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 05:32 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cardinal3420's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 268
See thats where i think im having trouble. It will be a thick planted tank once its said and done. I will have CO2 injected and i do fertilize. Im just wondeing do i go with a 2 bulb T5HO, or the 4 bulb.
__________________
Cardinal3420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 05:42 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: US
Posts: 1,306
IMO the 4 bulb would cause to much algae and CO2 would be needed.
__________________
EndlersEatGuppies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 06:27 PM   #7
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
Is this a 3' tank? I think 4x T5HO would be too much. I'm currently running 4x39w T5HO on my 40 breeder and fighting algae because of some nutrient imbalances. If anything, a 4x39w with 3 daylight and one actinic would be ok, but that's still a LOT of light. I would stick with a 2x39w, which would still require co2 and ferts, but wouldn't push you to the point of needing an expert on hand to help solve algae issues that pop up at random.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 10:33 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cardinal3420's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 268
Yeah ill probably just do the 2 bulb. I mean i really have not had trouble growing plants before. most plants i kept before didnt require crazy amounts of light. I just want something thats bright enough to also bring attention and a glow to the tank. but without stressing the fish. I think once its cycled im gonna be doing cardinal tetras and Rams. Should turn into a great tank.
__________________

__________________
Cardinal3420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, lighting, t5 light, t5 lighting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lighting times for sump lighting? Kelso Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 05-08-2010 11:21 AM
help lighting! newbie to higher lighting Musket Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 06-17-2006 11:52 PM
PC Lighting v. VHO Lighting mharrison86 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 06-15-2006 08:18 PM
Actinic lighting and Now VHO lighting.. seaham358 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 27 04-03-2006 10:06 PM
what lighting to use for 50 gallon lighting supermarvin76 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 05-15-2005 09:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.