Taking plants/seaweed from Lake?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jbarr

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi, I just recently visited my cabin in northern MN.

I was wondering, I brought back some seaweed and this long grassy looking plant. I stuck them in the gravel of my tank, hoping they'll grow. If they don't, then whatever. But,

is that bad? Can any parasites or bad things come from plants?

I have a 30 gal. W/ a pleco, small Tiger Oscar, and a goldfish.

any help appreciated. i'm pretty new to aquariums

There is more to growing plants than sticking any ole plants into a tank.

1)lighting..Typical tank lights need to be upgraded to produce enough lumens.

2)substrate..Needs to have nutrients to feed the plant

3)fertilizer dosing. again to feed the plant

A good place to start is reading the stickys on the forum this will get you in the right direction.

You'd want to carefully inspect the plants and either treat them or quarentine them before adding them to your main tank. In addition you should make sure that there aren't any regulations prohibiting the collection of these plants.

not to be a scrooge but
Under Minnesota law, aquatic plants growing in public waters are the property of the state. Because of their value to the lake ecosystem, they may not be destroyed or transplanted unless authorized by the Commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources.
http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/shorelandmgmt/apg/regulations.htmli do not know if this holds true infront of you own cabin

us this page to id your plants http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/nr/plants/aquatic/index.html
also i hope you are not spreading one of the many invasive species to new water...Eurasian water millfoil look kind of like hornwort if you are not careful

just an FYI