Tank in need of a make-over-Rather lg pics-warning

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JHawk

Aquarium Advice Activist
Maybe someone could give me a little help on this tank. It's a 38 gallon with 96 Watts (so about 2.5 WPG), 6700K bulb, DIY CO2, about 12 hours of light a day, cannister filter-XP2. Fish-4 lg Tiger Barbs, 5 Brilliant Rasboras, 3 gouramis, 1 Cory, 1 Med CAE. I have some good ferts that I've been using.

I am new to planted tanks, this being my first. It's been up & running since fall. I've made some bone headed mistakes, but that's a different story.

I ordered a "starter package" from AZGardens. He had included three larger plants in the sword family. I tried very hard with those- fert tabs, etc. They just did not do well so I had to yank them. The rest of the tank is just a bunch of smaller plants spread all over the tank. He had also included some other background plants that just didn't do anything and eventually withered away. Here is the tank now. (The background looks a bit cheesy, I know. It's actually more muted than the way it comes out in the pic.)

I think it just looks kind of sloppy. I would like to put in some larger, background plants that would do well in that light and are durable and easier to care for. Anyone have any insight?

Thank you!

img_378602_0_7c3f9953df879e781e6f0545b12db05a.jpg

img_378602_1_f19daae3a1ba12dc06ccf19f8aeddd30.jpg

I can't believe you can't grow anything you want in there. I have a similar setup and have a variety of plants growing through the top. I have to trim them every week or they cover the surface of the tank.

I don't know all the plant names, so the best I can suggest is look at my gallery at the photos. They're all very common plants - nothing exotic. I think wysteria, annachris, small chain swords, something like camboba but not, moneywart, baby's tears.