Tap water to RO water/My plants are doing awesome...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

corrado33

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm new to planted aquariums, in fact I bought my first plant a week ago. I don't even know what plants I have :( (Shhhhhh I don't usually make impulse decisions...:p, the lady at the mom and pop place told me they grow like weeds, and I actually think it's Brazilian waterweed)

Anyway, I bought a few more plants yesterday, and I added another lighting fixture to bring up my tank to a "medium" lighted tank. My plants are doing awesome. About noon today I noticed a small bubble on one of my plants, I figured it just got stuck there, but then around 5:00, there were bubbles coming off of every leaf, on EVERY plant! (Except the java ferns, but they're also doing well, even though their rhizomes are actually IN the substrate. (I'll fix that tomorrow)) I was so excited! I'm so happy that plants are doing well. Especially since I generally only see people with bubbles on their plants when they have a very high tech tank, or put a ton of work into their plants. I have a feeling though, that this good fortune is brought about by a TON of nutrients in my water. In fact, I've been battling BGA recently (why I bought plants in the first place, and I love the look of them).

Also, I just switched from tap water to RO/DI water. I'm afraid that as I continue to use the RO water, the nutrients in the tank will drop. I have well water, so I think that it came with a ton of nutrients to begin with. I have fish in there, and they always seem to fill the gravel up with poo. I vacuum every week and there's always a ton! Should I be worried about a possible nutrient deficiency? I'm planning on adding a couple more fish to bring my total to 10 in a 12 gallon tank. (Mainly guppies)