The most common... sticky -- discussion

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

greenmaji

Aquarium Advice Addict
From what I can tell from what people have posted CO2+medium light might be good to consider. Medium light Im thinking is in the 1.5-2 wpg range. Although CO2 is not nessasary at these light levels from the advise Ive seen here.

I'd say that as a newbie, I could hardly resist stocking right away. The infamous 'nitrogen cycle' seems to take forever!

My 6 pearl danios survived it alright, but with almost daily water changes - and the cycle still took almost 6 weeks.

My advice; take your time and try to ignore the tank while it's cycling. It's better to wait and have the fish you want to actually survive than it is to get frustrated and try to add way too many goldfish or the like.

2nd point of advice - read EVERYTHING you can find, be it here, @ google.com, or @ the library. There is no such thing as too much knowledge - especially when the caretaking of life if involved!

DeFeKt said:
Jchillin - you can always overdrive a 48" NO tube to levels above 40watts

Can I get sum more info on this?

I really like the results I get from overdriving lamps, though I've found that 48 inch T8 32W lamps are the best choice for overdriving. Here's gobs of information:

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=175

http://www.aquahobby.com/board/viewtopic.php?t=6453&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

http://tropicalresources.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=7576&start=0