Thinking about planted

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MitcherNeaf

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi there, i have a 55 gallon tank at the moment, and was looking at fake plants and they are so expensive and really not that lifelike and was thinking for the price of all that i should go with real plants, plus my wife thinks they look alot nicer anyway. But the problem is im not sure what to do. ive read most of the stickys and have a basic understanding but still not sure what i want to do. This is my first fish tank and ive only had it for around 2 months so im not an expert by anymeans, but i understand the basics of a regular tank. Im just not sure what kind of lighting i should go for, a low light setup or more of a high light setup, i know with the more light i can have alot more variety of plants, but not sure if i can handle something like that.

I am just wondering what is the best thing to start with, should i go low light, but then if i want to upgrade i have to pretty much start from scratch, is it better to go like medium light with like 2wpg and then if i wanted to go with more up my wpg's alittle bit and get some CO2? Or am i going to need co2 with medium light anyway?
thanks for any help
mitch

Upgrading to planted is a very good next step. Your wife is right, live plants look better and the added benefit is it helps maintain a healthier environment for your fish.

Your choice of low or high light is entirely up to you, your patience level and let's not forget, your budget. I started with low-light and I'm still there. The folks here will help you with whichever direction you take.