Thinking of starting a planted bowl...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sealife

Aquarium Advice FINatic
With no electrical equipment. Is that possible?

Something like this:
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/pHosting/f/10463_bowl_2b.jpg

Can that be done with no fish?

Basically just want to start another hobby to pass time, with another water based tank, but something very simple and cost efficient. And I have too much electricity running at moment from other tanks. So I thought plants would be good. If possible, maybe throw in an invertebrate or 2.

If this is possible, I have a few questions, as I have never had real plants before. I am a real noob to this, so sorry for the basic questions:

1. Exactly what would I need all up?

2. What is the smallest size bowl I should get?

3. Can I just leave bowl permanently outdoors for sunlight?

4. How do I keep water clean?

5. Do I still need water changes?

6. Do plants or invertebrates need to worry about nitrogen cycle?

7. If invertebrates are allowed in a small bowl, which of them would be ok to add?

8. I actually have a spare 4g tank square cube tank lying around somewhere. Would that work better than a smaller 1g or so round bowl?

9. What plants would work, if just kept outdoors.( or maybe indoors with just standard house lights on ceiling, which ever works better)

I think that's all questions I can think of?

Thanks guys.

I am going to tag along on this and watch. We spend much time outside on or deck in the summer and would love to do something as a center piece for our table.

Try looking up Wabi-Kusi bowls. Ive always liked the look of them

Not to sure how to answer most of your questions as i've not tried this myself. I will say that a 1g is too small for any fish but is ok for shrimp and snails

Thanks guys for the input. Much appreciated.