To plant.. or not to plant

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lyquidphyre

Aquarium Advice Addict
As some of you know im getting a 75gal aquarium soon. I am debating on weither or not I want to have live plants or not.

I do want something fairly easy to maintain with regular aquarium lights... I have no idea where to start! I know java moss and java ferns can be grown in low light. What else is there?

Also, I kind of like the planted tanks that have the "grass" at the bottom- what is that and is it hard(er) to keep?

Sorry im so naive about the topic... I guess im a plant newbie =o)

the "grass" plants are usually higher light plants (and sometimes I think some stores sell plants that aren't even aquatic but have that grass like appearance).

Hornwort does fine in low light if you let it float (it will be floating next to the light and the intensity will let it grow).
Hygrophila is also a low light plant.

liquidphyre....

If you're up to a trip to Dallas, there are a couple of fish stores that have a reasonable selection of plants that you can keep in a 'low light' tank. As patryuji stated, the 'grass-like' or ground-cover type plants like Glossostigma require relatively high light.

Most Cryptocoryne species and all Anubias species will do well in lower light. There are enough variations in those two genera that you can have tall, strap-like plants in the background, accent plants in mid-ground and low-growing plants in the foreground (or whatever other combination you might desire).