Total noob got some questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

stizzlack

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So, I've got this 20 gallon acrylic aquarium, and I like the idea and look of a planted tank, but don't know the first thing about what kind if plants, equipment, time, ect. Would anybody care to break it down for me or link to an existing post/website where I can find some more info?

Well you need the right lighting spectrum 6000ish Kelvin is the right one (the swirly light bulbs). You also may suggest substrate. make sure it isn't to hard for the plants to move their roots or even spread. Fertilizer is another thing that is good for the plants too. Finally right fish stock and a CO2 system is the optimum care for your plants. I myself am still a noob, but I am sharing what I have been taught. I planted my tank a while ago and without ever consulting websites. I have a too high light spectrum and algae bloom everywhere. I never used fertilizers so I just used seachem excel and it is helping the algae blooms. Make sure you plant them correctly or they could float up and ruin your filter (like it did mine). Some plants like root tabs which I have yet to get. They give the substrate nutrients some plants need like anubias, swordplants, hygrophilas, and crypto's. The easiest to start off with would be an anubias. it is very hardy and forgiving. just make sure you don't plant the big root. that's it that I know. Good luck, i hope you have better experience than i did

Subscribing so I can reply once I get to a computer. It's easier to type this much out with a real keyboard :)

:) ^ mebbid rocks. Got my kleiner bar sword growing like a weed! New leaf every other day!