Upgrading to a 125 Gallon Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

1midniterider

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello all... I'm relatively new to this hobby of ours, but have always been fascinated with setting an aquarium. We started out with a 10 gallon tank for Comet Goldfish from a local carnival. Then migrated to a larger 38 gallow bow-front tank with GloFish Tetras. The goldfish were rehomed to a local Petco. So now it's been couple of years learning, gaining experience and enjoying the journey.

Now it is time for the next upgrade. We now have a brand new Aqueon 125 Gallon aquarium and cabinet style combo. I've braced the family for the journey as best I could. I do not want to rush this upgrade.

Current tank and new tank photos are below.20190605_071619.jpg20190615_203124.jpg

The cabinet stand is the best by any means. I was told that it is rated to support 1400 lbs, but being made from MDF material has me concerned. It has been coated with a waterproof coating. Also the areas behind the doors have an open back and it is basically supported by the edges. So I beefed it up a bit. I removed the 1/16" backing material from the center of the stand. Then added additional support on the bottom and used 1/2" plywood to cover the entire back and coated it with Flex Seal.

Now that cabinet is ready. On to gathering the other pieces and parts for the tank. I've purchased an in-line heater and circulation pump. On the to do list:

1 - canister filter
2 - substrate. I'm leaning towards white sand and glofish gravel
3 - lighting
4 - more fish

Edit:

I'll post photos once I'm allowed.

I will be transferring the current population into the new tank, which includes 2 Mystery Snails, 4 Tiger Nerite Snails, 5 Amano Shrimp, 6 Neon Tetras, 3 Silver Mollies, 2 Oto Catfish and 18 GloFish Tetras.