Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-15-2003, 08:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 26
upgrading to a 26 gal tank, prep for plants?

Hi Everyone,

I have an established 10 gal. aquarium with floating hornwort, an Amazon Sword, and another rosette plant. While they have been doing fine (except yellowing-corrected with an iron test kit; I was overdosing on the iron). I'm planning on upgrading my tank to a 26 gallon one and purchasing more plants. Do you have any tips on how I should prep the new aquarium for new plants? Thanks.

...Also, must I cycle the aquarium before I put the plants in?
__________________

__________________
sleepylof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 03:39 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: australia
Posts: 140
No you don't need to cycle the tank before the plants are put in. Plants remove nitrite and ammonia so it speeds up the cycle...just one thing...there has to be enough lighting or the plants would rot and increase ammonia
__________________

__________________
accept fate...don't question it
azn dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 09:38 AM   #3
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OK, sleepy, outline your goals/plans for the tank.

Substrate?
Lighting?
Co2?
Type of fish?

these all need to be taken into consideration if you want to have a good plant tank from the start.

Be glad to answer any questions you have.
Quote:
No you don't need to cycle the tank before the plants are put in. Plants remove nitrite and ammonia so it speeds up the cycle
not quite true, it doesn't speed the cycle, rather it slows it! However, the results are much the same. the plants remove the bad nitro products, and fish get throught the cycle fine. cycling with plants, you will frequently not even get results on your test kits for nitro elemtents, this is called the "Silent Cycle". you still need to add fish slowly, make sure the plants are growing well, or your tank can crash just like an unplanted tank. If you use this method, it is best to plant heavily with fast growing bunch/stem plants, to keep up with nitro products and avoid (as much as possible) algae outbreaks.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
plant, plants, tan, upgrading

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New tank prep spittinfly Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 08-28-2007 11:10 PM
Upgrading 10 gal FOWLR to 30 gal reef newfound77951 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 11-17-2006 05:54 PM
upgrading 50 gal to a 150 gal tank soon..need help PiscesLou Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 10-09-2004 01:45 AM
Upgrading tank from 20 gal to 29 gal flipz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 05-01-2004 07:48 PM
What do you use to clean/prep a tank before silicone? targaboy78 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 11-20-2002 12:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.