Want to start a 55G low tech tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

am3ience

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I have a 55 gallon tank that I want to put live plants in, this is my first time trying a planted tank this big. The substrate is pool filter sand, and I have a 48" dual-bulb light fixture with no bulbs at the moment. I'm wanting to get a carpeting plant going, and some other nice low maintenance plants. I need recommendations to what kind of bulbs I should get. I don't have a CO2 system, so that isn't an option, and I would like to keep the algae as low as possible since I won't be putting any algae eaters in the tank. (gonna be a turtle tank, once I get some plants going). Any plant suggestions?

It is hard to get a successful carpet in a low light setup. You generally need co2 for a carpet and higher lighting. The easier plant for carpeting is dwarf sag

Hygro c., Wisteria, crypts, bacopa c., anubias, Amazon sword, hornwort, Val's, anarchis are al plants that can thrive in a low tech plants

It is hard to get a successful carpet in a low light setup. You generally need co2 for a carpet and higher lighting. The easier plant for carpeting is dwarf sag

Is it possible to get higher lighting with bulbs? or is that only accomplish-able with led? With higher lighting, i'm just worried about algae.

Algae is the result of an imbalance of ferts, co2 and light. Most go through it till they find the right balance normally it requires fiddling with the timer of lights and amount of co2. Either increasing or decreasing. If you want a carpet then you'd need a higher light I'm not to sure on what exactly is the best light for you. Maybe some one like brookster, fresh20 or Brian_nano can chime in and help you out.