Want to start a 55g planted.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dekz

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ok so it looks like I'll be getting a 55 gallon tank a lot sooner than I thought. I want to get all my planning and everything done now so that when I get the tank I can dive right in.
icon_cool.gif

I've never done a planted tank before but my friend just started getting into it with his so we've been doing a lot of research together.

So I'm thinking a mix of Eco Complete and black gravel for substrate, think 2 bags of Eco Complete will be enough? Stuff is pricey.

What are some economical ideas for CO2? My friend just has the homemade thing going on with a milk jug reactor and an old gravel vac diffuser. It works, but I'd prefer to have as little clutter in the tank as possible. What about getting a tank, is that expensive? What is a good/cheap method for testing/monitoring CO2 levels?

I think we've got the lights figured out, he got his from a good local place so I will do the same and retrofit them into the stock hoods.

I'm definitely going to do fishless cycling, I did my other 3 tanks with fish and I didn't lose a single one but man doing daily water changes gets old real fast. Is it better to put the plants in before the fish, can I have the plants in there while it's cycling, will ammonia/nitrite hurt them?

Thanks in advance for your help!

ammonia/nitrite is good for plants (to a point...). You can start adding plants pretty quick after setting up the tank (same day even).

Make sure you do your research on the type of plants you plan on buying. YOu want to avoid the common pitfall of buying non-aquatic plants. Many LFS (including large chain stores... especially large chain stores) sell plants that are not suitable for submerged growth but they say aquatic right on the package.