Wanting to know about planted tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

joemomma456

Aquarium Advice Activist
I know planted tanks are harder but i was wondering what was involved and what plants would be a good choice for a beginner (im not a beginner at tanks i have a thriving 10 gallon) just at plants

I know planted tanks are harder but i was wondering what was involved and what plants would be a good choice for a beginner (im not a beginner at tanks i have a thriving 10 gallon) just at plants
A 30 gallon long is an excellent tank for beginners. EHEIM 2211(Classic 150) filter, heater, CaribSea Eco Complete or equivalent quality substrate.

For LED lighting: Finnex Ray2, Finnex Planted +, Current LED, Buildmyled.com,or Kessil

For Flourescent lighting: AquaticLife T5HO, Catalina Aquarium T5HO

Plants: Cryptocornes, Amazon Swords, Hornwort, Anubias
:dance:

I'd suggest a banana plant because they are tough fellas,java moss will thrive in any lighting,water onions are good too.DONT DO BAMBOO even though pet stores do it.

Sent from my LT28at using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Java ferns are good.these plants are invincible really,though a banana plant prefers no high current, they release pads to the surface of your tank.speaking of surface water.....duck weed thrives like nuts ,I tend to like it some people don't ,I like that it seriously helps keep things clean because of its rapid growing

Sent from my LT28at using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Welcome to planted tanks! There are two types of planted tanks: high tech and low tech. Low tech tanks tend to have weaker lights, no pressurized co2 and generally less maintenance and cost. High tech tanks feature pressurized co2 and typically high light. When you're starting off with plants it's recommended to start off on the low tech side of things just to get the hang of everything.