What are these spots on my plant?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
It's a bit hard to tell from the picture. Could be damage from a fish like a pleco rasping too hard on the leaves, a nutrient deficiency, insufficient light, or even a non aquatic starting to rot. I'm not familiar with the plant so I don't know for sure if it's aquatic or not, or what it's requirements are if it is aquatic.

My Amazon Swords have the same thing. They are getting brown spots that eventally turn clear. It started before I got Otos so I don't think the fish are the reason.

I am a newbie but I'm guessing (with mine anyway) that it's a light/nutrient thing. CO2 maybe. I dunno.

But any advice people can give the OP, will be useful to me too, I think.

http://www.aquariumfish.net/catalog_pages/plants/plants.htm
scroll down it is listed under argentine sword

Edit: this is what I found so far.
Argentine Sword Plant
Freshwater Aquarium Plant Care

Scientific Name Echinodorus argentinensis
Size Up to 18 inches
pH 6.8 - 7.5
Temperature 60°F - 77°F
Aquarium Light Needed 50 watts for every 25 gallons
Water Hardness soft-hard
Origin South America
Care Grows better in softer water than hard water. Optimal growth may not occur if the water is too hard. Plant in a loose substrate and supplement with an iron fertilizer

Edit: this is another thing I found about it.

« Echinodorus angustifoliusEchinodorus aschersonianus »Echinodorus argentinensis
by SarahFish
Its synonyms are: E. grandiflrus ovatus Mich.; E. ellipticus var. latifolius Micheli sensu Hauman; Alisma grandiflora; E. longistylus hort.