What do I need?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zinthos26

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to this hobby and for my first 10 gallon tank I want to keep the plants really simple. I'm planning on getting just a java fern and a couple moss balls. So what will I need to keep them healthy? Do I need to buy fertilizers or CO2 booster? If so what brands would you guys recommend? I do plan on getting shrimp so I need to look out for copper.
Also I would like to attach the fern to a rock. Will any rock do or do I need to get a lava rock or something like that?
Any kind of help would be appreciated! thanks guys!

As for frets and co2 not required for these low light plants but the do help with growth you might need a little better lighting depending on what the stock light wattage is. For the java fern any rock will do just use cotton string or fishing line to attach wait about a month and then you should be able to remove the string. Also remember to turn your moss balls every once in a while to provide light to both sides. Good luck and have fun with it.

Welcome to thy hobby. Those plants are really easy and un-demanding. I'd still dose a little seachem flourish once or twice a week as directed. You can even dose a little Seachem Excel (or co2 booster, which is similar). Just don't overdose the excel because it can harm the marimo moss ball. Also be careful of using random stones with shrimp. Some can alter the water chemistry, making it tough to keep/breed shrimp. Driftwood might be a better idea, like Malaysian or manzanita, unless you know the type of stones you're using for your hardscape.

Watch how long you keep your lights on. 10 hrs is a good. As mentioned turn the moss balls and keep a look out for any wierd hair like algae that may grow on them. Moss balls can be evil. Lol

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Aquarium Advice mobile app