Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-30-2011, 09:17 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

What is the problem??

So I'm kinda new to this app. ( not my first thread) and after sone long rewind I tried my hand at plants. I bought two small java ferns and a hairball of java moss. All was going well for about two days. Something ate one of the java ferns. In the tank is three angels two tiger barbs two plecos four amano shrimp one crawfish and two pink gourami. (Yes I already know these guys don't do well together. I'm working the barbs one gourami out and loaches in.) so who is the culprit? Also with the addition of the plants I see a bunch of small white dots on the glass of the tank. Are these snails? Nothing on the fish so not ich. What is the downside to snails? Any help is always appreciated. Thanks.

Old 05-30-2011, 09:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Little white dots could be snails. Not sure. I don't know if tiny snails can do so much damage in two days. If it was an apple snail or something like that I would say sure, but IDK about little ones. Although they do eat algae, greens, plants etc as far as I know.

Old 05-30-2011, 09:46 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
It is probably the pink gouramis, they love a nice fresh salad bar.
Old 05-30-2011, 10:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Ok so no real downside to the snails. They pose a good snack for my future yoyo loaches anyway. I guess rapunzel an Eugene have to go. My four year old likes the tangled movie. Thanks everyone.
Old 05-30-2011, 10:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years

POTM Champion

I would guess it to be either the gourami, barbs, or cray