Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-04-2014, 01:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Iowa
Posts: 38
What kind of substrate to use for a new planted tank

Hi I'm new to planted aquariums and was wondering what would be the best substrate for the cost?
__________________

__________________
peacock eeelss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 01:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,929
I just did one with a dirt and a play sand cap. Dirt was $13 (miracle grow organic potting mix) enough for 2 tanks and a $2.50 for the sand I have left over on that as well. My last one I did with an off brand organic dirt for $6 and just reused the gravel that was in there before.
__________________

__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 01:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Loddy Dod's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 76
Send a message via Skype™ to Loddy Dod
You can use a lot of different substrates in planted aquariums, dirt, sand, fluorite. I have never personally used dirt, but I hear it is one of the best (and fairly cheap!). I use fluorite in my tanks and it works very well, and it is not to expensive.
__________________
Loddy Dod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 01:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Iowa
Posts: 38
What is fluorite like
__________________
peacock eeelss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 02:01 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Islayedgoliath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 56
I like using dirt. It's cheap and works great.
__________________
Islayedgoliath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 04:32 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,929
I agree I love dirt and wouldn't do it any other way now that I have it. I would like do it with an eco-complete cap.
__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 04:41 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
The choice of substrate really depends on what you want out of a planted tank.

If you are going low light then you can settle with plain gravel or sand and do just fine.

If you want medium light low tech then sand with root tabs or a plant substrate such as eco complete or flourite (both of which will need root tabs) will work just fine for you.

If you want medium or high light high tech then I would highly suggest either dirting or a plant specific substrate or both. Eco Complete, flourite, or aqua soil are good choices. Root tabs will still likely be needed.
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, plant, planted, planted tank, substrate, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.