Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-26-2011, 03:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,038
what pps to order

I am going to set up one of those DIY auto dosers, I am also planning on using pps (the flourish products are going to make me take out a 2nd mortgage on my house!) I Ned to know what to order there are so many different things out there and I am overwhelmed. I apologize if there has already been a thread on this (if there has been then just send me the thread and I will look at it.)
__________________

__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 03:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
The easy answer is N,P,K, and trace. I get mine from aquariumfertilizer.com. What you're looking for is KNO3, K2SO4, MKP, and CSM+B. You can also add in MgSO4, but it's not always necessary (GH Booster).
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 03:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,038
Would this DIY Auto Doser Build
Be a good auto doser. What is the likily hood that the timer goes wacko and dumps all the fertalizer in the tank? Would this kill my fish and plants?
__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 03:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
I built mine off Neilans design, which he linked in that build. Basically the same thing. With the minute amount of ferts, the only issues you'd have would be some serious hair algae IMO. It doesn't take much for sure.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 03:38 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,038
I really like the idea of an auto doser..... the Guy at my lfs said his on his salt water dumped all of the stuff in the tank at once and killed 20,000$ in fish... ouch! But his was set up as a plate that moved to let the drop come out and the plate got stuck so I think the way on that thread is more reliable
__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 03:40 PM   #6
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
Yeah, I can't envision the small amount of ferts used for this causing anything but algae if something went wrong.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 03:48 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,038
What if the timer stayed on and put 4qt of fertalizer in the tank would it kill everything in the tank
__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 03:58 PM   #8
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
No, I just can't see that happening. As I said, there is such a minute amount of fertilizer in those jugs, it would most likely only cause algae problems.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 04:52 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,067
Also, a large water change would reset your levels and you would be fine. I think the trick is getting them tuned in. I found using some zip ties around the tubing to limit the flow really helped conserve the solutions.
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 05:05 PM   #10
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Agreed with Jon and Steve. If even the whole jug emptied into your tank, it wouldn't kill anything. You could just do a pwc and you are back to square 1. The solution is almost entirely water. There is very little fertilizer in it. My containers last 7 days, so in the unlikely event of a complete dump, I would get basically the equivalent of a normal once weekly dose, much like if you are using flourish liquid.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 05:14 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,038
that is good the hear. I am going to work on building one! I saw a chart somewhere that had a ratio between the amount of liquid your pump pumps and how doluted the fertalizer needs to be, could some one send me that?
__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 10:46 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,067
I have it linked in my build thread that you linked to earlier. You can download it from there and input your values.

Edit:

Here it is:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/hb86d6...Calculator.xls
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 12:52 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,038
That is the most incredible thing ever!!!! I am going to order the pumps and things asap! Thanks for your help!
__________________
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:41 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfdrookie516
The easy answer is N,P,K, and trace. I get mine from aquariumfertilizer.com. What you're looking for is KNO3, K2SO4, MKP, and CSM+B. You can also add in MgSO4, but it's not always necessary (GH Booster).
Can I mix all of these together to put in an auto doser?
__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:43 PM   #15
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
No. You need 2 dosers. You can mix the NPK in 1 and the CSM+B in the other.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:43 PM   #16
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
One for N,P, and K, then one for Trace. They do something making them ineffective when you mix the micros and macros.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:46 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,038
Are the mini-jet 606, the only pumps that will work? Or will any submersible pump work?
__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:48 PM   #18
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Any pump with adequate head height will work.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:49 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,038
Is head highth just the vertical distance the pump will pump?
__________________
Fishfanatic 90 gallon build
fishfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:50 PM   #20
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Yes sir
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting a PPS pro lanceuppercut Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 02-17-2011 07:56 PM
Dissolving PPS Pro Sly_Fra Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 11-05-2010 12:51 PM
in what order? StngStr Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 02-10-2006 09:34 PM
PPS, EI or other? humpty Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 05-10-2005 11:09 AM
Anyone order from here? pondmom Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 02-08-2004 11:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.