Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-24-2012, 06:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Banana mouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 427
What substrate fertilizers do you use in your aquarium?

Is fluvals substrate a good substrate?

If not What substrate fertilizers do you use in your aquarium?
__________________

__________________
Banana mouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 10:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,706
Fluval Stratum? Hate the stuff. IME, very dirty and fragile so it breaks down easily. This leaves you with dust all over your tank that you will be cleaning daily. IMO, for a similar price Eco-Complete is far better.

Regardless of your choice of substrate you will need to fertilize at some point.
__________________

__________________
I support the right to arm bears.
blert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:58 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Banana mouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 427
I use the tetra one and my mum threw half the container away and I needed that so I was basically looking for a cheap brand but I might just use tetra again. I was only thinking about fluval because it was cheaper
__________________
Banana mouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 09:52 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Coursair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Francisco East Bay Area CA
Posts: 7,921
I use sand with DIY Root Caps ( Osmocote Plus)
__________________
My 10g Shrimp Jungle My 10g Rimless My 5.5g CRS Tank They are a work in progress
Vid of my Shrimp Jungle
~ Tina
Coursair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 07:34 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coursair
I use sand with DIY Root Caps ( Osmocote Plus)
Where do I look to learn how to make my own?
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 11:51 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 94
I use dirt. Anyone else with me?
__________________
ReidILewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 03:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by boadams87
Where do I look to learn how to make my own?
I think it is as simple as...
Get a jelly bean/candy making tray thing (or an ice tray), drop a couple of grains in with some tank water and freeze it.
__________________
I support the right to arm bears.
blert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 03:09 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
skywhitney's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southwest, USA
Posts: 2,174
I have also heard about people using the dissolving pill capsules.

personally i'd go with what blert recommended though.
__________________
I have a wife, a toddler, a truck, a planted tank, a reef, a snake, 2 Bearded Dragons, 5 Milk Frogs, and 2 dogs.

Busy.
skywhitney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 03:18 PM   #9
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
I use dirt and have used the ice cube method for dosing osmocote, both work well.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 06:40 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Coursair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Francisco East Bay Area CA
Posts: 7,921
DIY Root Tabs

DIY Fert-Cicles.
Osmocote Plus from hardware store or nursery
+ Ice Tray
+ Tank Water

Fill trays 1/2 way with Fert
Fill trays with tank water
Freeze

Bury deep under or near Crypts and Swords or struggling plants. You don't need to put one per plant. Space them about 6" apart I think ??

I use O+ in my tanks. Got a RAOK of O+ root caps, gel capsules. They work great.
__________________

__________________
My 10g Shrimp Jungle My 10g Rimless My 5.5g CRS Tank They are a work in progress
Vid of my Shrimp Jungle
~ Tina
Coursair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fert, fertilizer, fertilizers, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.