Where am at with my light?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

New_b0401

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So I'm new to planted tanks, but am absolutely in love with them! So I decided to start one of my own after being inspired by looking through all the amazing tanks and info on AA:) My parents decided to surprise me with a gift. So they purchased a national geographic deluxe programmable LED aquarium light. It has 3 LED lights that run 7,000-10,000k according to the box. I am using this light on a 29 gallon tank. Where would this put me as far as low-high light and for future purchases how do I know if it low, medium, or high light.

I understand this is not the best light but it was a gift and I would like to use it. If in the future I need to add another light in addition what would be your suggestions?

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Please dont mind the REALLY foggy water I just filled the tank and it has a sand substrate

Attachments

• 1406826989665.jpg
    1406826989665.jpg
    26.1 KB · Views: 245
  • 1406827002285.jpg
    1406827002285.jpg
    60.1 KB · Views: 289
  • 1406827013364.jpg
    1406827013364.jpg
    50.9 KB · Views: 295
  • 1406827023600.jpg
    1406827023600.jpg
    61.8 KB · Views: 176
Well you'd have to figure out the PAR values. I did a google search but couldn't find much about it. It seems to be pretty good. If your tank is 16" tall (my memory of the 29 gallon dimensions is hazy) than I would guess you have maybe 60-70 PAR at substrate, but that is a complete guess. It looks pretty good. It is $117 at Petsmart's website. That's more expensive than a finnex ray 2, which would give you medium-high light, so I'd say it's pretty good.