Where to buy a "plant package?"

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Vmax911

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm new at the planted tank thing, and have spent a few hours looking through plants at various websites. And I must say it is very overwhelming, there are so many types, kinds, species, whatever, etc.

Is there a good online store where I can buy a "sampler" or "starter package" of low - medium low light plants.

FYI, I have a 50 (48x13x18) gallon with 2 32watt T8 6500K bulbs (I believe this puts me at about 2 NO wpg). No CO2, currently with a few crypts (I think) and rotala I found at the LFS.

Here's a low light plant package at FreshWaterAquariumPlants. It's for a 15-30 gallon tank, so two would probably be about right for your tank. I've never ordered from them, but I've heard good things about them from others.

The Aquatic Store also has several low light packages. Again I haven't ordered from them, but have heard good things about them though usually their CO2 equipment.

I would just go over to our classified section and wait for someone to post about trying to get rid of some clippings, or perhaps even post a wanted ad.

Thanks for the links! I spent most of my time at plantgeeks, aquariumplants, and some other site I forget. I knew someone would sell packages.

I would post in the classified section, but I don't have enough posts yet! :(

Also, 2 wpg is still considered low light, correct?

depends on how u are getting 2 WPG. in your case u are using t-8 which are more efficient than NO bulbs so u are at a bit higher than 2 WPG. that is the borderline for medium. u would be safe with most medium light species. post what u like before u buy them so we can comment if they will be a good choice for your tank.