White Cloud minnow and java moss?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Exigenn

Aquarium Advice Freak
Not really sure where to put this but here it goes.

Im setting up a 10 gallon tank at my grandmas house with Just a tank and lid, no heater or filter.

I plan on planting the tank with mostly java moss and java ferns.

The residents would be White Cloud.

I have no experience with this fish and was wondering if they would eat the plants.

if they do can anyone recommend me a fish that would be ok without a filter and heater in a planted tank Not really wanting like a 1 fish betta setup something i can keep a hand full of together.

Thanks

They will not eat the plants as long as they are fed.

May I ask why no filter?
A simple air driven sponge would be fantastic!

Where in NY are you??

yea thats kind of what im looking for. I doubt she will change the water much so its going to be whenever i can get over there(every 1-2 months) and with no heater im sure there will be temp fluctuation so we will see how it goes.

The other fish i was considering would be danios if you could give any input on them

I believe they are very similar.
Some may say the danios want more leg room...
Both would like bigger but could be Grandmas friend in a 10g also.
Could you sneek a bigger tank without filter....
Like a 20 long????

Nah she wanted a bowl originally lol....10 gallon was a stretch

Those were just my ideas but im open to suggestions for a 10 gallon. Again no filter heater and most likely some pretty big temp fluctuations.

By big do you mean sudden and dramatic? That may be a bit stressful on the fish.

By noise does she mean "buzzing" from the filter or trickle from the water?

If she's worried about buzzing get a Marina Slim 10, 15 or 20:

http://www.amazon.com/Marina-A285-S10-Power-Filter/dp/B0032G8TPW