New member/SW Fish tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jzepeda02

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone,

So I went out and bought me a SW fish tank, (my daughter is in LOVE with Dory). The gentlemen at my LFS suggested I get a small tank since I'm a beginner, I ended up with:

Nano Cube 24Gallon with its own Filtering system
About 10lbs of Live rock
Bag of live sand
Heater
No fish

So last night I set up my tank following the instructions the guys gave me at the shop. This morning I noticed some of my rocks had a brown layer on them. After reading some posts i learned that it's part of the cycling.

So I guess I will just wait to see how it turns out. (Patience)IMG_0330.jpg

Hello everyone,

So I went out and bought me a SW fish tank, (my daughter is in LOVE with Dory). The gentlemen at my LFS suggested I get a small tank since I'm a beginner, I ended up with:

Nano Cube 24Gallon with its own Filtering system
About 10lbs of Live rock
Bag of live sand
Heater
No fish

So last night I set up my tank following the instructions the guys gave me at the shop. This morning I noticed some of my rocks had a brown layer on them. After reading some posts i learned that it's part of the cycling.

So I guess I will just wait to see how it turns out. (Patience)

IMG_0329.jpg
Here are some pics of my set up.

it's called cayno it is a phase all new tanks go through , never heard of it appearing on the first day usually takes about a week or so to kick in . what type of water are you using tap or RO/DI

it's called cayno it is a phase all new tanks go through , never heard of it appearing on the first day usually takes about a week or so to kick in . what type of water are you using tap or RO/DI