I would like to get fish and want to know what would be best

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

2swimmersAlike

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a 10 gallon tank, I was thinking some Betta or Danio fish (maybe both) and I'd need to know stocking levels and such. Maybe a platy? I'd like to see a couple frys in the tank, that'd be pretty cool. (I'm a beginner)

Hello! I'd personally recommend a betta. I belive danios need more swimming room, so they'd wouldn't be suitable for your tank. With platys, it's also best for them to have a larger tank if you intend to breed them, as they are very prolific.
You could always do just a very spoiled betta in a beautifully scaped tank. :)
Other options instead of betta could be a neocaridina shrimp tank or a home for two African dwarf frogs.

I have a Betta and 6 Celestial Pearl Danios in a 30 liter Biorb. The Betta is on the geriatric side an lays in his floating log 80% of the time. So the CPD's own the tank. IMG_1221.jpg

If the Betta had been younger and with an attitude this would never have worked.

If you want livebearers I would consider a group of endlers live bearers in a 10g. They are tiny and colorful Commercial guppies can be difficult to keep and a 10g tank is too small for a platy and much too small for a molly.

Zebra and similiar danios are too active to swimmers to be fully at home in a 10g tank. Instead, consider some celestial pearl danio which are smaller.

A 10g tank is a great home for a single betta but tank mates will be limited.

EDIT: Apparently I spent way too long typing that out and missed all the other responses in the meantime.