Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > Regional Forums > Over the Pond - EU & Beyond
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-13-2015, 02:43 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 8
New Aquarium nutrient levels

I have been fishless cycling my aquarium and the levels have now gone down to Ammonia 0ppm-Nitrite 0ppm and worryingly Nitrate 0ppm.
I have now introduced fish ( only a few) should my nitrate level now rise to an acceptable level ?
__________________

__________________
Graham Ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2015, 05:41 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Ray View Post
I have been fishless cycling my aquarium and the levels have now gone down to Ammonia 0ppm-Nitrite 0ppm and worryingly Nitrate 0ppm.

I have now introduced fish ( only a few) should my nitrate level now rise to an acceptable level ?

How long have you been fish less cycling the aquarium? Are you using a liquid test kit or strips? The nitrate test in the API liquid kit needs to be done exactly as the instructions and you need to shake bottle number to really hard as the reagents form on the bottom of the bottle which can produce a false negative.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Caliban07 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2015, 08:06 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,248
Did you ever register nitrates?
How long did you cycle for.
+1 with Caliban07.
__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
https://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/auct...sp&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 02:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 8
I tested with the dip strips and seemed to have a reading of 25ppm> . When I went to my supplier for my first fish (3 Guppies, 3 Platies and 2 Siamese Algae Eaters) with a water sample she got a reading with , a powder and then drops of 0ppm. Don't know now whether to buy a Nitrate test kit or use the strips. Fish seem to be lively , eating well and good colour so seem to be OK. The S.A.E. have devoured all the growing algae in two days. the tank is pristine and the water crystal clear. ????
__________________
Graham Ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquarium, level, new aquarium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nutrient ratio Nystina Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 11-24-2004 04:51 PM
Nutrient Deficiency Water... Can Wait??? AquariumFreak Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 05-14-2004 12:02 PM
For Sale: Mardel Plant Nutrient FishYee Archive 0 05-11-2004 04:14 AM
Mardel Plant Nutrient !!! FOR SALE FishYee Archive 0 05-11-2004 04:13 AM
Nutrient Export nugrad2005 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 04-16-2004 04:05 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.