Help please! ( stocking information 26 gallon )

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

irishdaisy

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi I'm new to the hobby. . I have a 26 gallon fluval bow front. Inside I have..

2 adult female guppies

2 sucker fish 1.5 inch each (pleco)

4 guppy juvenile (6 week old)

20 guppy babies (2 or 3 weeks old)

2 young angelfish

(body about the size of an Oreo)

When my smallest guppy fry gets 2 months old, im planning on giving away all the female guppies.

So my questions are

is this tank overstocked at the moment ?

Can it stay with all these fish for 2 months ?

First off, cool tank! I think you'll be fine for the next two or three months, but the plecos will grow quickly and assuming that they're the common plecos that most people are sold, then they're going to get huge (2'+) I'd return the plecos and depending on the gender of the angelfish, you might want to return one as well. Once the angel is full grown you might have some aggression problems between him and the guppies. Hope this helped!

Nils

Angels are not as aggressive as most people think. Though I feel Angels need a larger tank. Personal opinion if you have seen a full grown one.

Caleb

Sent via TARDIS

Thank you! I will prob give away the plecos &guppies (in about 1-2months) and maybe make this tank just for the 2 Angels if they are getting along .. Do you know how to tell if angelfish are male or female

Thank you! I will prob give away the plecos &guppies (in about 1-2months) and maybe make this tank just for the 2 Angels if they are getting along .. Do you know how to tell if angelfish are male or female

Angelfish are near impossible to sex until they reach maturity and even then unless it's noticeable they have paired off its very hard to tell.

Caleb

Sent via TARDIS