Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > New Acquisitions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-04-2013, 10:56 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishCr8zy's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,458
Send a message via Skype™ to FishCr8zy
Quote:
Originally Posted by bshenanagins View Post

Yeah I guess your right. I think I was just leaning towards the fact that if a common filter cost that much you might as well spend the dough on a sump.
That's true. I wouldn't spend more than $300 on a canister. Id just go for the sump no matter what.
Though the fluval fx5 and fx6 and worth there price.
__________________

__________________
It wasn’t until 1853 in London when aeration and filtration of water was understood, that people
were able to keep fish as indoor pets.

FishCr8zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 11:01 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishCr8zy's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,458
Send a message via Skype™ to FishCr8zy
Quote:
Originally Posted by roydesilva View Post

Here is the filter
Ohhh. That one! I've seen those before here but they are called something different. They were one of my choices for my first canister but then I saw the Rena's and there cheap but powerful filters.
__________________

__________________
It wasn’t until 1853 in London when aeration and filtration of water was understood, that people
were able to keep fish as indoor pets.

FishCr8zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 03:13 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishCr8zy View Post

That's true. I wouldn't spend more than $300 on a canister. Id just go for the sump no matter what.
Though the fluval fx5 and fx6 and worth there price.
Yeah I have an FX5 but prob gonna keep it just in case if I have an issue with the sump
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 10:36 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishCr8zy's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,458
Send a message via Skype™ to FishCr8zy
Quote:
Originally Posted by bshenanagins View Post

Yeah I have an FX5 but prob gonna keep it just in case if I have an issue with the sump
You are so lucky.
It'd take me a few months to save up the mont for one of those things and you have a sump.
So the fx5 is out of use and is only turned on as a backup? Or is it always on?
__________________
It wasn’t until 1853 in London when aeration and filtration of water was understood, that people
were able to keep fish as indoor pets.

FishCr8zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 02:03 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishCr8zy View Post

You are so lucky.
It'd take me a few months to save up the mont for one of those things and you have a sump.
So the fx5 is out of use and is only turned on as a backup? Or is it always on?
Haha well I bought it last year used for like 200. Was gonna use it but decided to build a sump which is in the process of being built. I have a 135 and I'm using my 55 as the sump. Was gonna put my 40 breeder setup in my 55 but changed my mind.
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 08:53 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishCr8zy's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,458
Send a message via Skype™ to FishCr8zy
Quote:
Originally Posted by bshenanagins View Post

Haha well I bought it last year used for like 200. Was gonna use it but decided to build a sump which is in the process of being built. I have a 135 and I'm using my 55 as the sump. Was gonna put my 40 breeder setup in my 55 but changed my mind.
Oh, so the sump is being built in the 55 and the fx5 is running for now? That's a huge sump btw . Does the sump have to be around half the size of the tank it's filtering?
__________________
It wasn’t until 1853 in London when aeration and filtration of water was understood, that people
were able to keep fish as indoor pets.

FishCr8zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 12:46 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishCr8zy View Post

Oh, so the sump is being built in the 55 and the fx5 is running for now? That's a huge sump btw . Does the sump have to be around half the size of the tank it's filtering?
No my 135 isn't up yet, I'm still building the stand. It's for my RES and some sunfish. I'm making her a custom basking area that will be almost the length of the tank. And I'm not sure about sump size. Cuz if you think about it canisters aren't that big, it's the flowrate that makes them so expensive.
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 06:06 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishCr8zy's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,458
Send a message via Skype™ to FishCr8zy
Does res stand for red eared slider? So sumps have more flow rate than canister?
__________________
It wasn’t until 1853 in London when aeration and filtration of water was understood, that people
were able to keep fish as indoor pets.

FishCr8zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 06:38 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishCr8zy View Post
Does res stand for red eared slider? So sumps have more flow rate than canister?
Not necessarily, depends on the pump you install. But I would get one that's pretty powerful to encourage lots of circulation. Plus sumps provide much more room for media which is its greatest advantage. And yes it stands for red eared slider
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 07:52 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Just to bring it back on topic, to the OP, you could use some of the media from any of your established filters. This will kick start your new filter and dramatically reduce the time it's needs to grow some BB. Some BB will transfer from the old media......
__________________

__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.