Coming soon: baby american lobsters

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bosoxlobsterman

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I'm doing my masters thesis in Maine on the health of juvenile lobsters in acidified water, and I spent all summer raising them (several thousand) from hatch for 90 days, by which point they had all (a couple hundred) settled to the bottom and become benthic.

One group had more than three times as many by the end of the experiment, and I couldn't see sacrificing all of them when there wouldn't be any increase in scientific accuracy... so I continued to raise a few in the tanks there.

I've finally got a tank up and running for them, although it still needs to cycle before I bring them home. The background was a DIY project from this summer that I conditioned for about two months in freshwater, but never filled after that.

It's important to note that the females which supplied the nauplii were caught on a government license, and the larvae were also raise on said license; it's still illegal to own lobsters smaller than the legal size without the right permits in Maine.

Attachments

• DSC_3052 (1).jpg
    DSC_3052 (1).jpg
    218.1 KB · Views: 108
  • DSC_3053 (1).jpg
    DSC_3053 (1).jpg
    186.9 KB · Views: 89
  • DSC_3054 (1).jpg
    DSC_3054 (1).jpg
    234.5 KB · Views: 93
  • DSC_3055 (1).jpg
    DSC_3055 (1).jpg
    183.5 KB · Views: 104
Looks top notch. Are you using a chiller? I'd love to know more about the set up.

Not using a chiller yet; I raised them at 18-20 C (64-68 F) to get a shorter larval period, and I'll probably keep them around that temp. My apartment is poorly heated on one end so I'm keeping them there to keep the temp down during the winter.