Cycled tank-ammo creeping up?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mousemommy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Newbie here-my apologies-this might be long, but the devil is in the details......
Please understand I've been a poor fish-keeper in my past. Now that I have more life behind me than in front of me, I swore to be better. I've been lurking in this forum and found it a great resource and unfortunately a confirmation of my past ignorance......

So to the details:

5G Marineland Portrait.
Planted- with various PetCo plants pre-packed in gel ( rinsed ).
Substrate- Eco Complete.
Heated- Cobalt Micro ( new tonight, it's a replacement of a PetCo version & I'm twitchy--hoping it keeps temp ).
Bubbler- on low.
Cycled- confirmed with API test ( this took me 6 weeks - don't ask, I was an idiot ).
Now stocked with one (1) Male Betta Spendid ( young, under 4 months & active as all heck! ).
All water aged over 24 hrs ( & filtered with one of those ceramic "prepper" type filers ).
Treated with Prime.
Indian Almond Leaf added to ageing water.

After 7 days no PWC readings are:
Ammo .25
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 20
PH 8.0

After PWC ( appx 40%? )
Ammo 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0
PH 7.8 ( I assume this is lower due to the IAL I just got ).

Since I'm planted & have a substrate, I'm probably more like a 4G, so %'s of PWC are rough estimate.

Duke ( my Betta ) is young and growing. He's been in tank for 2 & 1/2 weeks now. He gets fed 2x per day. I feed him Wardley brand Betta food-- Blue. I have to crush it because his mouth is too small to eat the pellets. This causes some debris, which I use a turkey baster to remove ( as best I can ). He doesn't eat longer than about 4 mins. He lets me know when to stop feeding him. He stops eating & spits his food out.