I am a newbie to being a tank owner and I need help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LVA414

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Okay, so I bought a 20 gallon high tank. I put in the water, I added conditioner, I added tetra safe start, I gave it a week, and then I tested the levels. Ammonia is 0, Nitrite is 0, Nitrate is 20, Ph is 7.6, temp is 78.6. After seeing that the levels were fine I went to the pet store and bought two dwarf blue gouramis, named chichi and chachi. Well after two days one of them died, I figured she was already sick from the pet store. I went back and they kindly gave me another one. Now the 2nd one of the first pair I bought looks pale and is just lethargic. The new one is swimming around fine for now. I just wanna know if anyone has any idea of what could be going on with them. I appreciate any help I can get, thank you in advance.

Hi there. Am not too sure but it could be sick as well when you first got it. Am not 100% but aquarium salt is good for them.

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

I heard dwarf gourami are for more experienced people so I've stopped myself from buying one as of yet. I hope yours survive. I too would like to know how to keep them alive as I will be getting some in the near future.

Getting addicted...