Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > New Acquisitions
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-11-2013, 09:41 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
J.Mcpeak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Normally, In A Tank!
Posts: 1,685
Got the measure of that

How very informative, please tell me more about the slides?

English building uses both metric and imperial. Wood stocks are normally imperial sizes, some stuff like sheet materials and plumbing uses both measurements. I've never seen (to hold) an imperial only tape measure, not in my whole life. So that is a very bizarre thing to me! I don't even think we sell them? Both scales are on the tape. Mechanics Tools are both to suit cars, in most cases for British made cars, modern cars metric, old cars imperial. In engineering and really old cars you also get (British standard) whitworth sizes BSF & BSW. These are rare. Keeps us on our toes!
__________________

__________________
https://www.flickr.com/photos/928918...7632686866609/
FW-750L DIY, 120L, 2x110L(not my)DIY. BW-60L DIY. Sw (nearly!)(http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...se-284360.html)
^almost a DIY Fish House^ https://m.youtube.com/user/4tanks2day (L=litre)
J.Mcpeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 10:29 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 202
I think the imperial system is as dumb as it gets. I hate it, and I hate using it, but that's what we do. This is my standard tape.



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20131211_092917.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	36.8 KB
ID:	211506
__________________

__________________
What do you hear Starbuck?
Nothing but the rain sir.
sixtyfou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 10:48 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
J.Mcpeak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Normally, In A Tank!
Posts: 1,685
Ignore the fish.
This is my standard steel rule. Almost everything is this way.
My vernier, compass cutter and tape measure.
My adjustable tri square is imperial only. (Carpentry tools)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	227.7 KB
ID:	211507  
__________________
https://www.flickr.com/photos/928918...7632686866609/
FW-750L DIY, 120L, 2x110L(not my)DIY. BW-60L DIY. Sw (nearly!)(http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...se-284360.html)
^almost a DIY Fish House^ https://m.youtube.com/user/4tanks2day (L=litre)
J.Mcpeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 11:07 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 202
Oh you had to show off your square. Let me go to truck.
__________________
What do you hear Starbuck?
Nothing but the rain sir.
sixtyfou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 11:14 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 202
She's rusty, but she measures the same.

Booooo, let me get to a PC.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20131211_101318.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	62.9 KB
ID:	211508   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20131211_101337.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	64.1 KB
ID:	211509  

__________________
What do you hear Starbuck?
Nothing but the rain sir.
sixtyfou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 12:48 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
J.Mcpeak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Normally, In A Tank!
Posts: 1,685
Tools that have worked. No bad thing. All the right bits are there, 90' and a bit going this way and a bit going that way. Perfect.
That might be made from stainless, wire wool, good as new.

I don't understand tool collections? They must be used. Tools work for a living.
__________________
https://www.flickr.com/photos/928918...7632686866609/
FW-750L DIY, 120L, 2x110L(not my)DIY. BW-60L DIY. Sw (nearly!)(http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...se-284360.html)
^almost a DIY Fish House^ https://m.youtube.com/user/4tanks2day (L=litre)
J.Mcpeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 10:59 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 202
I had a chance to get this thing up and running today so far so good. It's producing the numbers I would expect. It doesn't like my 7.6 pH water. That's what the tap here come out at. I've always figured I could live with that. The Danios would prefer it to be lower, but don't seem to mind. I like being able to check my tank stats from my phone. I haven't figure out a good way to export the data, and it doesn't look like they have an easy way to do it.
__________________
What do you hear Starbuck?
Nothing but the rain sir.
sixtyfou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 11:26 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 202
I've been reading through the Seneye docs. They have a different way of looking at water chemistry measurements. Since the unit only measures NH3, Temp, and pH they strongly focus on those factors. I found this write up really different than the standard take on tank monitoring.

what is ammonia NH3 & NH4 ? - Seneye
__________________
What do you hear Starbuck?
Nothing but the rain sir.
sixtyfou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 01:49 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
J.Mcpeak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Normally, In A Tank!
Posts: 1,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixtyfou View Post
I've been reading through the Seneye docs. They have a different way of looking at water chemistry measurements. Since the unit only measures NH3, Temp, and pH they strongly focus on those factors. I found this write up really different than the standard take on tank monitoring.

what is ammonia NH3 & NH4 ? - Seneye
Nh3 temp and pH are all you need to find out nh4, there are graphs available to make the maths easy. Basically lower temp and pH means less free form ammonia.


You should be able to find it out online simple enough.
__________________
https://www.flickr.com/photos/928918...7632686866609/
FW-750L DIY, 120L, 2x110L(not my)DIY. BW-60L DIY. Sw (nearly!)(http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...se-284360.html)
^almost a DIY Fish House^ https://m.youtube.com/user/4tanks2day (L=litre)
J.Mcpeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 02:28 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 202
They have a widget that shows the NH4. They don't talk much about nitrates, and nitrites was more my observation. The unit doesn't test for those. "When the only tool you have is a hammer everything looks like a nail."

So far I'm happy with it. For the price, it's offering a lot, and the tests seem accurate. I wish it did a few more things, but it's pretty new. I shopped digital meters for a good while before ordering this. I hate reading color strips. I didn't see any other digital in tank monitors in this price range.

I switched it from one tank to another today to see how it behaved. I think it will be really cool for new tank starts. I'll try that soon. The tanks I've put it in so far are pretty stable.
__________________

__________________
What do you hear Starbuck?
Nothing but the rain sir.
sixtyfou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.