Is it normal to spend over a grand on this hobby in 1 month or am i going overboard?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

xsamrlx17

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
In the past couple months I've gotten a 15g a 10g and a 50g also a 3g for my betta. I know I've spent well over 1000$ is this normal? I never expected the hobby to be so expensive. Does it continue to put a hole in your pocket or is it just when you're getting started? Is it unnecessary for me to buy certain things that fish stores will say you need? Anyone have any suggestions on how to spend less and enjoy more lol? It seems I'm at the fish store everyday. I do find it worth it though, I'm new to having all my own tanks and am completely obsessed.

My start up was pretty expensive but buying tanks on craigslist helps alot.

Right now I have 3 tanks running I have bought pellets and flake food once. frozen maybe 3-4 times in a year and maybe 3 bottles of prime.

Once you have everything there is no costs really just prime.

I have never added algea stabilizer or bacteria crap I let me tanks cycle properly and let the algea bloom run its course.

xsamrlx17 said:
In the past couple months I've gotten a 15g a 10g and a 50g also a 3g for my betta. I know I've spent well over 1000$ is this normal? I never expected the hobby to be so expensive. Does it continue to put a hole in your pocket or is it just when you're getting started? Is it unnecessary for me to buy certain things that fish stores will say you need? Anyone have any suggestions on how to spend less and enjoy more lol? It seems I'm at the fish store everyday. I do find it worth it though, I'm new to having all my own tanks and am completely obsessed.